Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

Liebster blog award

Yo peeps.  It’s serious post time again and for that you can lay the blame squarely with one person: Becoming Bitter, a real girly girl with a large family who spend most of their time drinking and having BBQs on the beaches of the US East Coast.  Taking time out from her day job as a ruthless Wall Street accountant, she nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award.  Busy as she is, she wasn’t able to tell me this news herself and instead got her PA to fax me an email.  Bitter, your PA certainly knows how to make good use of bullet points and for that she should be applauded.

Anyway.  Liebster is a German word meaning ‘deer’ so I can only presume the award is something that originated from within the butcher and abbatoir industries, the only place where you can win trophies for having the nicest chopping block or for finding a face of Jesus in the intestines of a cow.

As part of accepting this award (I am far too vain to turn it down, especially when it is from a girly like Becoming Bitter who counts Harry Potter among her list of heroes and once confessed to having a crush on Gimly from Lord of the Rings) I need to nominate some other people for it.  After giving it some thought whilst sitting on the toilet I decided that I would nominate the people on my blogroll.  So here goes:

 

Spite Wall – Daily deliveries of humorous cartoons.  The artist is a 320-year old dwarf (so he should keep an eye out for Becoming Bitter) who lives somewhere in Russia.  The internet is rubbish where he is so he has to start updating his blog at least a week in advance.

Moose Licker – Nowt to do with animals, but maybe his ancestors worked in a butchers shop or an abbatoir, just the (jolly amusing) thoughts of some bloke in the US.

Kicking Sport – New to the world of blogging, this 88-year old former morris dancer is getting well stuck in to writing sporting satire.  If he so much as farts anywhere near my territory I will cut his varicose veins off.

The Middlest Sister – I haven’t seen a blog like this before.  This blogger has four sisters and she recalls parts of her family life here but with a twist – each post is played out like a cartoon strip and created with bits of cloth and material.  The intricate detail in each post is very impressive and she spends up to two hours creating each one.

Whimsy Whims – A staggeringly insane lady who was born and raised in Leonardo da Vinci’s house, her witty and amusing posts recently earned her a place in the Freshly Pressed hall of fame.

Random Female Blog – Not a name to be taken literally, these two friends share and update a blog about whatever is on their girly minds.  They live in Belgium, a nation so neutral and inoffensive that it isn’t even on Google Earth.

 

Phew, all done.  Just so you all know this will probably be the first and last time that a picture of a heart appears on this here manly blog of mine.  I did try to change the heart for a steak but my Photoshop skills are rubbish and Google images wasn’t much cop either.

21 responses to “Liebster blog award

  1. April TriceA 11/21/2011 at 12:57 PM

    And a resounding round of applause for EWE!!! Your head may inflate to a garrish size when I nominate you for the Versatile Blogger Award later today. Oh bee-have!

  2. afrankangle 11/21/2011 at 12:59 PM

    I appreciate seeing a list of other blogs to visit. But this your list offers the most accurate descriptions I’ve ever read.

    • Michael Cargill 11/21/2011 at 1:21 PM

      I pride myself on the accuracy of my research.

      By the way I commented on your blog but it is probably in the spam folder. All my posts are being marked as spam for some reason…!

  3. Random Female Blog 11/21/2011 at 3:56 PM

    We’re not on Google Earth? Do we even exist then?
    Seriously, thanks Michael. We’ll send you some Belgian chocolate soon.

    • Michael Cargill 11/21/2011 at 7:55 PM

      You do exist physically but you don’t even have a proper government at the moment. If that happened here in the UK we would be killing each other and eating raw carrots in the streets.

  4. Becoming Bitter 11/21/2011 at 5:36 PM

    WTGB!

    1) I am not a girly girl – I wear a black cloak and a death eater mask!
    2) As a death eater I follow VOLDEMORT – so I don’t like Harry Potter
    3) I work in a LAB – I’m a science nerd (the cool, down to earth kind)
    4) I have been mistaken for a guy 3-4 times on WP
    5) I do not drink alcohol
    6) I do not have a crush on anybody especially that troll

    There! Thanks Micheal who happens to like his kinky gym time for the mention. It was very “sweet” of you.

    • Random Female Blog 11/21/2011 at 7:13 PM

      WTGB is what exactly…?
      I said you’re a death eater, isn’t that much better?

    • Michael Cargill 11/21/2011 at 7:54 PM

      I did have full intentions of making it a serious a post but I just couldn’t help myself. Sorry sis, please don’t steal or eat my soul or lifeforce or my kinky mojo.

      Gimly is the dwarf though.

      Talking of science have you ever heard of Ben Goldacre? He wrote a book called ‘Bad Science’ that debunked a load of science myths like homeopathy. It’s aimed at the mass-market so I don’t know if it would be something you would like but it’s good.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Goldacre

      I also follow him on Twitter.

  5. mooselicker 11/21/2011 at 6:55 PM

    Thanks and congratulations to the other winners!

    (also love your description of RFB)

  6. Anna 11/21/2011 at 7:29 PM

    Just wanted to let you know that I’ve added your site to my newly formed blogroll… because your blog is awesome 😀

    • Michael Cargill 11/21/2011 at 7:48 PM

      Golly gosh! I am being bombarded with good news tonight (well, apart from Becoming Bitter being nasty to me on Twitter) – thank you very much Anna.

      Everyone should check out Anna’s blog, she has some interesting ‘flash’ fiction to be read.

  7. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award of the month nominees « Kicking Sport

  8. hitthesport 11/23/2011 at 7:58 PM

    Doesn’t it mean ‘dearest’? Great blog mate………I’m very new to all this and am blown away by the amount of good writers here.

    • Michael Cargill 11/23/2011 at 8:08 PM

      Yeah, it does mean ‘dearest’ but hey! I couldn’t resist being stupid about it.

      Glad you like the blog but I am far from a pro – only been here for about 2 months. Feel free to ask me for any tips or anything though (that Kickingsport guy certainly does…!).

      By the way I commented on your blog but I think it is in your spam bin. All my comments are marked as spam at the moment for some reason, bloody annoying.

      • hitthesport 11/23/2011 at 8:13 PM

        Thanks for that…..I’ve already been bugging him for advice thanks!

        I just need some more time (busy household, kids etc) to get a good feel for what it is I want to write about. When you’ve got no space and everything is manic it can be hard to focus and even be motivated to write. It’s frustrating as I feel I’ve got alot to say, it’s just coming out in a negative way at the moment as things are so hectic.

        I’ll get there and thanks again.

Leave a Reply

