Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

A cub scout reviews a tape measure

tapemeasureHi, gang!  My name is Jeremy Jez and I’m a member of the 23rd Alrdridge Scout Group.

Now, if there’s one thing that Akela is always telling me it’s that I should be going out and doing things for myself, and it’s for that reason that I’ve decided to become more independent.  And what better way to do that than to take a close look at a tape measure?  All the important people use them, like plumbers and electricians, and I once saw a car park attendant using one to see if someone had double-parked or not.  Cool, eh?

After asking my mum to turn the light on for me, I went into the garage and found dad’s measuring tape on the shelf.  It’s one of those special ones where the tape rolls back into the holster thing when you let go, so I’ve got to make sure I don’t cut myself on the sharp edges.  Someone should invent a sellotape that can do that as well, ‘cos it always seems to get stuck to my fingers.

First of all I decided to try and measure the hallway, but it turns out that the tape wasn’t long enough which is a bit rubbish.  Does that mean you have to buy two of them if you want to measure a room in your house?  That must cost LOADS.

I then measured my Xbox, which was quite big, but not as big as my TV.  I got out my sleeping bag that I took to summer camp and measured the wee stain from when I wet the bed because I thought I heard a bear outside the tent – turned out it was just the patrol leader coming back from the toilet.

Actually, that reminds me: my patrol leader is always boasting about how big his willy is, so this is a great chance to see if it’s true.  Hmmm, the tape says mine is three inches long – that’s really good, right?

No way will anyone else be able to beat that!

5 responses to “A cub scout reviews a tape measure

  1. El Guapo 10/04/2013 at 2:22 PM

    He should get a scale rule, maybe 1:6 or better.
    Makes everything seem bigger!

  2. M T McGuire 10/04/2013 at 6:20 PM

    Young man, it may be a year or two before your dongle measures up.

    Yours

    Granny Stokes

  3. Anna 10/10/2013 at 7:49 PM

    Very impressive! Mine isn’t even half that big.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,196 other followers

