Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

Margaret Thatcher reviews a Vileda floor mop

margaret thatcherHello, dear subjects! I trust you are keeping well and taking good care of yourselves – after all, no-one else is going to bother doing it for you.

Anyway. The other day I was browsing the shelves of my local hardware store and came upon a delightful little stick with a fluffy thingy on the top. I was so impressed by it that I stuffed it up my skirt and walked briskly and purposefully towards the exit. The store is one of those daft local independent shops that can’t afford a security guard, so more fool them I say! Why should I bother putting my hard-earned pennies into the pot if I don’t have to?

It took me a good ten minutes to untangle the mop once I got back home.  Lord only knows what hooks and splinters it was catching on, but my trusty old Swiss army penknife is perfect for getting in amongst all those troublesome nooks and crannies.  Once I finally had my newly acquired mop standing tall in front of me, my attention was drawn to one particular little warning on the box:  Not suitable for minors.

Which didn’t surprise me in the slightest.  Given that they’re a bunch of lazy, dirty men who would down tools and go on strike simply because their pick axes are loose and those pet canaries they love so much are dropping like flies, it comes as no surprise that they would be reluctant to spend a few minutes cleaning their square-tiled linoleum kitchen floor.  No doubt they see it as someone else’s job to supply them with clean water that is free from cholera and other nastiness.  I tell you, that sort of attitude gets right on my shit.

As for the mop itself… well, I dipped it into a bucket of water but wasn’t too sure what I was supposed to be doing with it after that.  I called in David Cameron to do the rest, as everyone is always telling me he’s good for that wishy-washy type of nonsense.

He’s bloody useless at everything else, that’s for sure.

7 responses to “Margaret Thatcher reviews a Vileda floor mop

  1. David Stringer 07/16/2013 at 1:55 PM

    Bloody miners, always whinging about how they want to stay alive.

    Makes me sick.

  2. A Voracious Reader 07/17/2013 at 12:10 PM

    That picture isn’t creepy. Nope, *backs slowly away* not at all.

  3. Sasha 07/22/2013 at 5:17 AM

    Haha. This is brilliant.
    Although I must admit, my knowledge of Margaret Thatcher is rather limited. Her reign was kinda before my time…

  4. Anna 07/22/2013 at 6:55 PM

    Oh my God, this is fucking brilliant. Although I don’t really want to be thinking about Thatcher’s deceased crannies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,188 other followers

