Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

Shades of Grey now available in paperback! Giveaway a la internationalé

Yo peeps!  Time for yet another serious post whereby I whore myself out and go all self-promotiony on you.

Right then.  Just over a year ago, some of you may recall that I published a book called Shades of Grey.  It was a collection of three short stories that was only available in smelly ebook form (Kindle, Nook, etc.)  Well, I’m pleased to announce that it is finally available in PAPERBACK form!  YES!  Down with all this digital nonsense I say, and onwards with pulped trees and physically vulnerable mediums.  Apart from WordPress, of course; blogging would be a right kerfuffle if was all done via papyrus scrolls.  Papyrus shops are a bit thin on the ground here in Blighty.

Anyway, to celebrate this truly momentous occasion I’m giving away a whole five copies to anyone who fancies one.  This giveaway is open to anyone, anywhere in the world… providing Amazon deliver to you, that is.  This goes doubly so for people in America as they buy far FAR more of my books than any of my smelly fellow Brits do.  In fact, my fellow Brits should count themselves lucky that I’m even allowing them to enter.  You bloody Brits with your wonky NHS dentisted teeth, daft accents, and the obsession with driving fuel-efficient cars.

I tell you, if I ever get rich and famous from this writing lark, I’ll definitely go and live in the US for a while.  I’ll be able to eat hot grits for breakfast and have melted cheese on everything without anyone batting an eyelid.  I won’t be going anywhere near their chocolate though, that really is ghastly stuff.

So, all you have to do is leave an email address in a comment below and I’ll contact you for your real address if you’re a winner.

For those that don’t believe I actually went ahead with this, it’s listed here on Amazon UK and here on Amazon US.  For those that still don’t believe me, here is a picture of the aforementioned paperbacks on my bed.  And yes, I did gather them up and cuddle them afterwards.

PS – although it shares a similar name, Shades of Grey has nothing to do with that erotic grot written by EL James.

PPS – for those wanting to know, I’m hard at work on another book.  I decided to dip back into historical fiction again, and it’s a story set in the Warsaw Ghetto during WWII.

John is not a very nice man. He works for the government. So who has tied him to a chair and what do they want?

James is a British soldier during WWII. Tom is a young boy with a terrible secret.

Three stories. Three very different people. All of them battling to survive.

Shades of Grey Real!

28 responses to “Shades of Grey now available in paperback! Giveaway a la internationalé

  1. Duncan Webb 06/11/2013 at 10:28 AM

    Finally! As I don’t own one of them new fangled kindles I might actually get to read your book. Hope it sells well.

  2. No Blog Intended 06/11/2013 at 11:44 AM

    I can barely breathe – this is AWESOME! Congrats on the real books. It’s still a step beyond virtual stuff, right?
    And the Warshaw Ghetto – OMG. Excuse me for being so shouty about this, but I’m right now studying Polish history, at this very moment, and I’m almost at that point. Poland has an interesting history. When my finals are over and your story is ready I’ll most certainly read it!
    (And I might just want a paperback book – if I can convince my parents that giving away my address to a stranger isn’t harmful.)
    (Amazon does deliver in Belgium, right?)
    Anyways, it’s just noblogintended@hotmail.com, in case everything will turn out fine.

    And congrats once more :).

  3. Anonymous 06/11/2013 at 12:16 PM

    Congrates!!!! It’s a great achivement !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    kiran.lanka23@gmail.com

  4. Bob H 06/11/2013 at 12:49 PM

    Well done!
    I might get to read it, now that it’s available in non-Kindle mode ;-)

  5. A Voracious Reader 06/11/2013 at 1:08 PM

    I’m not sure I want a book that’s been cuddled by you on your bed. They better not be sticky. And besides, you dissed my chocolate. Them’s fightin’ words! ;) I have a Kindle copy, so unless you have one left over I’ll bow out of the giveaway.

  6. J.R.Barker 06/11/2013 at 1:32 PM

    Way to go Cargill! It looks even better on paper!
    But I have to protest, my teeth aren’t wonky :/

  7. clare wheeler 06/11/2013 at 3:15 PM

    I do love a good book even better if i were to win one. Congrats on getting published. clareandlisawp@gmail.com

  8. Dan lamont 06/11/2013 at 5:07 PM

    Give me a copy please ;-)

  9. beckyday6 06/11/2013 at 5:13 PM

    Haha awesome post Cargill, I laughed a lot! Being very pro physical book I love that you have gone all old fashioned on us. The altered text with the banner is great, looks much more professional. :)

  10. Pingback: The Blind Spots in History # 2: Hidden Holocaust Numbers | No Blog Intended

  11. Jo Toon 06/13/2013 at 4:00 PM

    Axis reader number 2 here! Always good to try out new reading material.

    jo.toon@hotmail.co.uk in case I am a lucky winner!

  12. Thinks Books 06/13/2013 at 7:17 PM

    YAY! I’m so happy for you Michael!
    think.think.80 at gmail dot com

  13. Anna 06/17/2013 at 8:34 PM

    This is fucking amazing! You are living my dream and I wish to eat your brain as a result. But seriously, I would love a copy of your book. My OCPD makes me read things in a certain order, which means I almost never buy books, but if I were to have a physical copy it would go on my shelf and I would read it when it rolled around. Which might be in a couple of years. But it will be there, and I will read it, and even if I am a transexual penguin by that point, when I read it I will still think of you.

    lsowter@live.co.uk

  14. Lily 06/19/2013 at 6:21 AM

    Congrats friend! That’s so cool that you have actual published books. So rad. I just need to get my ass into gear and start reading them :)

  15. Pingback: Three toughest books I’ve ever read | No Blog Intended

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,185 other followers

