Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

I am a dustbin man and I have to be careful

dustbin‘Yo ho ho and a container of rotting cabbage’ as the saying goes down at the depot.  We are a tight-knit group of lads down there; we have to be otherwise we would all go stark raving mad with Lyme disease.  Citrus-based drinks and cakes are popular around here and people just throw away the peel without a second thought about who has to take care of it afterwards.  The younger, more aggressive ones among us think that these people are taking the pith but the wiser ones such as myself just see it as a natural hazard of the job.  It’s about perspective; there are brave soldiers getting blown to smithereens in Afghanistan whereas all I have to do is make sure my jacket is zipped up tight.

Being a dustbin man is strangely hypnotic and if you are not careful it can take over your life.  One Saturday afternoon I popped into town with my wife to go shopping.  I spotted a pile of discarded clothes on the floor and, before I realised what I was doing, I had hoisted the entire bundle up onto my shoulder ready for disposal.  I even yelled out “Hold up there Bazza, I got some old rags here” such was my state of confusion.  Even as the store security guard was bundling me to the floor I was twisting his ear round to start the crusher machine up.  Still in a daze I then banged my fist on his groin as I always do when I want Bazza to open the passenger door for me.  The handle don’t work, see, and it can only be opened from the inside.

Sometimes if I have to take a step backwards I start making a beeping sound and move very slowly.  If I am in a daze and thinking that I am charge of a ten-ton vehicle, I don’t want to be stepping on some little doggie’s toes.  I once accidentally stepped back and knocked over a garden gnome a few years ago.  I hate garden gnomes so I wasn’t actually that bothered about it, but the owner went bleedin’ mental at me.  Shouting and hollerin’ he was.  I told him to calm down and get some perspective; there are women out there carrying around rape alarms lest they get harassed by dirty old men.

All he had to was move his shitty garden furniture out the bloody way and all would have been fine in the world.

14 responses to “I am a dustbin man and I have to be careful

  1. Julie Rainey 05/07/2012 at 1:38 PM

    Stupid gnomes. They ruin everything.

  2. A Gripping Life 05/07/2012 at 3:50 PM

    Here in the states we call them, garbage men. I wouldn’t want to be one but they do get paid pretty big salaries considering what they do. I couldn’t handle the stench, yuck.

  3. Emily 05/07/2012 at 4:53 PM

    Haha, HILARIOUS!
    Our binman knocked down one of my neighbors gnomes and they had a screaming match in the street. It was quite funny actually!

  4. Anna 05/07/2012 at 4:58 PM

    As always I laughed until I peed, and then I remembered this…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82V69TX6wIE :D

  5. Addie 05/07/2012 at 5:52 PM

    “Taking the pith” –AHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Personally, I couldn’t do that job in the cool/cold months, much less the heat and stench of the middle of July, with blow flies and maggots and all the rest. EW!!

  6. beckyday6 05/11/2012 at 7:37 PM

    Sounds like a serious case of dustbin OCD :L

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers

