Michael Cargill

Regular updates of sarcastic and irreverent nonsense.

Shades of Grey – new book

Serious post time.  As some of you already know I have been writing and self-publishing books.  Well today I have published my fourth one!  Here is the ‘blurb':

John is not a very nice man.  He works for the government.  So who has tied him to a chair and what do they want?  James is a British soldier during WWII.  Tom is a young boy with a terrible secret.

Three stories.  Three very different people.  All of them battling to survive.

It is a collection of three short stories and Kindle owners can purchase it directly from the Amazon Kindle store (US link and UK link.)   Owners of other ereaders can buy it from Smashwords.  My other books are available for free on Smashwords.  They are all DRM free so can be shared around without any problems.

If anyone is willing to post a review on their blog or even on somewhere like Amazon and Goodreads then you can use the code below to get yourself a free copy from Smashwords.  This offer is open to anyone so if you know any other readers who would be interested in reviewing it then please do tell them!  As a bonus the review will also entitle you to free digital copies of my future books as well.

Code – NT88S

I have the following people to thank for taking the time to read things before they were finished – No Blog Intended, Random Female Blog and April Trice.

The following people have tagged and/or passed on a blog award to me recently – Addie, A Gripping LifeJbmumofone and Laplumenoire so my thanks to those kind people as well.

Shades of Grey

27 responses to “Shades of Grey – new book

  1. jbmumofone 02/21/2012 at 9:00 AM

    Qu’est-ce que c’est SmashWords? I am seriously going to have to get myself one of these e-reader things. I am a luddite.

  2. April Trice 02/21/2012 at 1:34 PM

    So proud of you….whipping out your stories, publishing and talking smack all at the same time. I need to pop a No-Doz and catch up! Mwah!

  3. Lily 02/21/2012 at 5:38 PM

    That’s awesome! Congrats! I need to make some room in my schedule to read that! I don’t have a kindle or anything, so I can just buy it online, right?

    • Michael Cargill 02/21/2012 at 5:53 PM

      Sort of. It’s not actually available as a paper book, only in electronic form.

      The PDF version is available on the Smashwords link which would enable you to read it on a PC, iPad or some smartphones.

  4. No Blog Intended 02/21/2012 at 6:59 PM

    *holds banner up*
    *GO MICHAEL GO*
    You’re a kickass writer. The honour of reading your stories is entirely mine.

  5. Vilipend 02/21/2012 at 8:37 PM

    This book sounds great! I’m a bit behind on my reading but I’ll put this on my reading list.

  6. mooselicker 02/21/2012 at 8:47 PM

    Nice! I didn’t realize you were such a WWII buff? I started reading one of your other ones–this was like 4 months ago then I got distracted. I’ll probably print it out, easier for me to read.

    Anything I can to help promote say the word! Best of luck to ya.

    • Michael Cargill 02/21/2012 at 9:53 PM

      Any and all help is appreciated.

      I love reading about WWII stuff, the whole era fascinates me. I would like to write more stories set in that era but it would require a bit more research to make sure I get things right.

  7. Pete Howorth 02/22/2012 at 12:32 AM

    Deffo gonna give this a read, you’re one of my favourite writers.

  8. Lafemmeroar 02/22/2012 at 5:18 AM

    Sounds very intriguing and I love the cover … :)

  9. AgrippingLife 02/22/2012 at 12:44 PM

    Michael, I haven’t gotten to it but I will later today. Looking forward to it!
    Lisa

  10. Lisa 02/22/2012 at 4:07 PM

    Okay, I read the first ten pages and I must say it’s really good. I like the way you cut back and forth from John’s current situation to his “home” life. It gives his character much more depth, makes him relatable and elevates the story to another level. Nice work, Mr. Cargill. I’m impressed.

  11. Addie 02/23/2012 at 5:34 PM

    Downloading today!

  12. Sasha 02/24/2012 at 8:28 PM

    Yay! Congrats. Is the book available in a printed, tangible copy?

  13. Pingback: 27-02-12 Love Books Weekly Showcase | Love All Blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,201 other followers

